Drink it on Wednesday

It’s no longer Wednesday. I’m sorry. But things have been super busy lately, and will be for the next couple weeks. I’m sure you understand.

But just because it’s not Wednesday, doesn’t mean you don’t get a drink! And what a delicious drink it is.

Photo Courtesy of Charles Smith Wines

I was first introduced to this rosé a few years back when the 2008 vintage showed up in a little wine shop that I used to call mine.  It’s a collaboration between two winemakers: Charles Smith and Charles Bieler.  Like many of the other picks in the store, it was very affordable at merely $10 a bottle.  Plus it was really, really good.  I’ve been buying it for 5 years now.  It’s still very affordable, ranging from $10-$12 a bottle at most places.  And it’s still really, really good.  I look for it wherever I go.

Perhaps one of the best aspects of this wine is that the winemakers (specifically Charles Smith) have sustainable growing practices.  This wine is not specifically marketed under any label or certification, but its sustainable origins reflect an ambition to make good wine in a good way.  Other labels by Charles Smith Wines even source from vineyards that are biodynamic, one of the most holistic approaches to modern agriculture.  These grapes are beyond organic so to speak.

The 2012 vintage is a blend of 81% Syrah, 16% Mourvedre, 2% Cinsault, and 1% Grenache.  The pink color is darker than other vintages have been and has a salmon tint to it.  (The label is as bright pink as it’s been in the past. Though they’ve changed the design over the years.)

The official tasting notes state aromas of “wild strawberry, rose, cherry, subtle hibiscus and a touch of citrus, with underlying dried herb, crushed gravel and mineral tones.”  I definitely get rose and apple scents with a bright and fruity flavor on the palate.  I taste more of the “crushed gravel” in the finish mixed with a nice acidity.

The wine makers strove for balance, and I think they got exactly what they were looking for.  And I got exactly what I was looking for.  Every vintage is unique, and I’m glad I have more than one bottle to enjoy this summer.  Especially paired with seafood…seared scallops anyone?

 

Share your thoughts